Sioux Falls City Naming Committee 2015 Annual Report

An advisory committee to the Mayor and City Council on matters related to the naming, renaming, or commemorative designation of city property, including building facilities and interior spaces thereof.

Membership

Doug Barthel (retired 10-2015); Matt Burns - Police Chief Mike Cooper – Director of Planning and Building Services Mark Cotter – Director of Public Works Mary Johns - Director of Siouxland Libraries Don Kearney - Director of Parks and Recreation Jim Sideras – Fire Chief

<u>Public At Large Appointees</u> Jesus Ramierez – Term Expires December 2017 Mark Young – Term Expires December 2015 Jeff Wilkes – Term Expires December 2016

<u>Membership Term Expirations</u>: Jesus Ramierez – Reappointed for a second term from January 2015 through January 2017. Police Chief, Matt Burns, replaced Ret. Police Chief, Doug Barthel, on October. 16, 2015.

Sioux Falls City Naming Committee

Established by city ordinance (22-13) in April 2013, the Sioux Falls City Naming Committee is a group of nine persons who serve in an advisory capacity, providing guidance and recommendations to the Mayor and City Council on matters related to the naming, renaming, or commemorative designation of city property, including building facilities and interior spaces thereof. The City Naming Committee consists of the Planning Director (who shall serve as chairperson); Public Works Director; Police Chief; Fire Chief; Parks and Recreation Director; Library Director; and three representatives of the public at large. The three public at large members are appointed by the Mayor. The appointments are subject to the review and approval of the City Council. The appointments are for a three year term, and the Public At Large appointment members are limited to two consecutive terms.

2015 Program Activities and Projects			Timeline
•	Adoption of 2015 Me	December 2014	
	Friday, February 20	1:30 pm City Hall Commission Room 224 W 9th Street	
	Friday, April 17	1:30 pm City Hall Commission Room 224 W 9th Street	
	Friday, August 21	1:30 pm City Hall Commission Room 224 W 9th Street	
	Friday, December 18	1:30 pm City Hall Commission Room 224 W 9th Street	
•	Recommendation(s) Resolution #48-15 – between Center and Recommendation(s)	June 2015	
·	Ordinance #14–15	February 2015	
	Ordinance #27-15	Club Cambria at Denny Sanford PREMIER Center	March 2015
	Ordinance #91-15	Midco® Aquatic Center at Spellerberg Park	September 2015

The City Naming Committee meets quarterly, the third Friday of each month, at 1:30 p.m. in Commission Room of City Hall located at 224 West 9th Street in Sioux Falls, SD. The Committee is pleased to have visitors attend their meetings at any time.

For further information visit the Commissioner's website page link at: <u>http://www.siouxfalls.org/mayor/boards-commissions/city-naming.aspx</u>