Sioux Falls Municipal Band

About the Sioux Falls Municipal Band

The Sioux Falls Municipal Band, one of the oldest and most prestigious bands in the nation, has been performing without interruption since 1919. The band’s performances begin with the Armed Forces Day Celebration in May each season and continue through early August. Special events include the Flag Day performance at Veterans’ Memorial Park, the Mayor’s Fourth of July Picnic, the Jaycees’ annual 4th of July Celebration, and an indoor concert at the historic Orpheum Theater.

17,000 people annually attend the Municipal Band concerts which include two performances each Sunday, and additional performances during the week. Guest performers have included world-renowned opera singer Emily Lodine, regionally noted singers Gabriel Rivero, Tammy Roberts, Sarah Schreck, and Kelly Keyser, instrumentalists Carl Hallstrom, Emily Brandel and Tyler Nettestad, and children’s entertainer Phil Baker, as well as other highly talented performers.

Band members are selected and are compensated for their services. For more information concerning the band, please contact Chris Hill at 605-332-0867.

Auditions for the Municipal Band:
Openings for the band will be filled by audition. Please contact the Bandmaster Christopher Hill at 605-201-2551 to schedule.

Date Time Location Address Theme
Saturday, May 20, 2017 10am VA Medical Center 2501 W 22nd St Armed Forces Day
Monday, May 29, 2017 10 a.m. VA Medical Center 2501 W 22nd St Memorial Day
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 7:30 p.m. Dow Rummel 1321 Dow Rummel Victrola Voyage
Sunday, June 11, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Bugs Bunny: Classical Music
You Didn't Know You Knew!
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 7 p.m. Veterans' Park 1021 W Bailey St The Greatest Generation
Sunday, June 18, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Sousa!
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 7:30 p.m. The Inn on Westport 4000 S Westport Ave Glory of the Trumpets!
Sunday, June 25, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Don't Worry, Be Hippy . . .
A Baby Boomer Bash
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 7:30 p.m. Good Sam Village 3901 S Marion Rd Play that Funky Oboe, Hot Boys
Sunday, July 2, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St In the Miller Mood
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 11 a.m. Falls Park 131 E Falls Park Dr American Pride
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 7:30 p.m. W.H. Lyons Fairgrounds 100 N Lyons Blvd Red, White, and Blue
Friday, July 7, 2017 7 p.m. Pop Up Park Phillips Ave Plaza Mini Muni Brass Band
Saturday, July 8, 2017 10 a.m. U.S.S. S.D. Battleship Memorial 12th and Kiwanis Ave Victory at Sea
Sunday, July 9, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Sole Music-Marches!
Thursday, July 13, 2017 7:30 p.m. Active Generations 2600 W 46th St Heaven and that other Place
Sunday, July 16, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Music by Dead White Guys
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 12 noon Pop Up Park Phillips Ave Plaza Mini Muni Wind Quintet
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 7:30 p.m. Touchmark at All Saints 111 W 17th St Music Heavy Enough to Sink
Sunday, July 23, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Paul Hoy Circus Concert
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 7:30 p.m. Good Samaritan Center 401 W 2nd St Music A' La King
Sunday, July 30, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St It Ain't Over 'til a Person of Yet to be
Determined Stature and Gender Sings
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 7:30 p.m. McKennan Park Bandshell 1400 W 3rd Ave Benny, Glenn, Duke and Friends
Sunday, August 6, 2017 8 p.m. Terrace Bandshell 1100 W 4th St Grand Finale

About the Bandmaster

Christopher Hill, Bandmaster, is well known to the Sioux Falls audiences for his performances with the South Dakota Symphony, Dakota Wind Quintet and other groups. He has performed nationally and internationally with some of the world’s most prestigious musical organizations. He holds Bachelor’s and Masters of Music degrees from Temple University.