Building Services

Licensed Contractors

The City requires contractors for residential construction (RBC), mechanical (MCI), fire place (FPC), refrigeration (REF), plumbing (PLU), landscape irrigation (LI), electrical (ELC), residential only, class B electric (CB), and fire alarm (FAC). The following excel sheet contains contact information for all the contractor lists.

Complete Contractor Lists (Updated 6/30/17)

PDF’s of individual lists for contractor groups can be found through the following links:

Licensed Residential Building Contractors
Licensed Electrical Contractors
Licensed Mechanical (Heating & A/C) Contractors
Licensed Plumbing Contractors

Rental Housing Permit Application

Property owners using property as housing rentals are required by ordinance to register and obtain a permit from the City to use such property as residential unit(s).

Use the links below to download or submit an application online.

Rental Housing Permit Application


Our mission is to safeguard the public health, safety and general welfare of the public by regulating and controlling building design through verification of structural strength, means of egress facilities, stability, sanitation, adequate light and ventilation, energy conservation, accessibility for the disabled and the operation of electrical, plumbing and mechanical systems; to provide safety to life and property from fire and other hazards attributed to the built environment and to provide safety to fire fighters and emergency responders during emergency operations. The building services department is responsible for overseeing the protection of property along with ensuring public safety in building construction and maintenance.

Building Services is a division of Planning and Building Services and is made up of several subdivisions: Building Inspection, Electrical Inspection, Mechanical Inspection, Plumbing Inspection, Property Maintenance Inspection, and Code Enforcement.

2015 I-Codes

The attached ordinances and commentaries, and submittal and synopsis references the adoption the 2015 International Building Code (IBC), the 2015 International Residential Code (IRC), the 2015 International Existing Building Code (IEBC), the 2015 International Mechanical and Fuel Gas Codes (IMC and IFGC), and the 2015 International Property Maintenance Code (IPMC) which are promulgated and published by the International Code Council (ICC). The I-Codes are revised through the governmental consensus process and are published in a three-year code cycle. Each model code standard provides and establishes the most up to date minimum standards and regulations for residential and commercial building systems to safeguard the public health and safety in the built environment and are used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, resilient, affordable and sustainable structures for the City of Sioux Falls.

The 2015 IBC, IRC, IEBC, IMC, IFGC, and IPMC Codes became effective for the City of Sioux Falls on
May 1, 2016.

Trending Topics