Investigative Services


The Sioux Falls Police Department Detective Division is staffed by 42 civilian and law enforcement professionals. The Division is divided into four primary sections.

The four sections of the Detective Division are:

  • Crimes Against Persons (CAP)
  • Property Crimes Section/Fraud (PCS)
  • Narcotics
  • Crime Lab


The duties of this staff are to conduct follow-up investigations of reported crimes, update sex offender registrations, process evidence at crime scenes, and proactively work Internet crimes along with seeking out Internet predators. Members of the Detective Division partner with both law enforcement and nonlaw enforcement agencies to accomplish its goals.