Library Board of Trustees

Number of Members

7 (4 Mayoral Appointments)

Special Qualifications

Appointments to the Library Board are made by the City Council and County Commission at their first regular meetings in January or whenever a vacancy occurs. Members of the board include four citizens appointed by Mayor and Council; one citizen appointed by the Minnehaha County Commission; one liaison from the Minnehaha County Commission; and the Library Director.

Residency/Registered Voter Requirement

Must be a resident and registered voter of Sioux Falls. (Mayoral appointments only.)

Summary of Duties

Sets library-specific policies and provides citizen input and recommendations for administrative actions to the Library Director and to the governing bodies. Advocates for library services to meet the ever-changing needs of the community.

Library Director
Siouxland Libraries
200 North Dakota Avenue
P.O. Box 7403
Sioux Falls, SD 57117-7403