Mayor Paul TenHaken Named Chair of FCC’s Intergovernmental Advisory Committee

As part of its new membership, Mayor Paul TenHaken has been named chair of the Federal Communications Commission’s Intergovernmental Advisory Committee, or IAC, by Chairman Ajit Pai.

The mission of the IAC is to provide aid to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) on telecommunication issues affecting local, state, and tribal governments that are within the FCC’s jurisdiction. The IAC is composed of elected officials of municipal, county, state, and tribal governments.

“I’m honored to have been selected by Chairman Pai to serve on the Intergovernmental Advisory Committee for the FCC and am equally honored to be chosen as chair. Sioux Falls has been dedicated to forward-thinking telecom policy, and I look forward to working with other government leaders to help advise the FCC in the years ahead,” TenHaken said.

During its two-year term, the IAC may be tasked by the chairman to work on projects that will further the Commission’s mission and objectives, which may include those related to increasing deployment and adoption of broadband services; strengthening public safety communications infrastructure and emergency response capabilities; and other tasks to help local, state, and tribal government officials explain Commission rules and policies to their constituents and other members of the public.

For more information about the Advisory Committee and a list of the full membership, visit

Share This