Mayor TenHaken Announces 2022-23 Mayor’s Youth Council

Mayor Paul TenHaken is pleased to announce the students selected for the 2022-23 Mayor’s Youth Council. The class is comprised of twelve Sioux Falls juniors and seniors, including representation from private and public schools.

The following students have been selected to serve on the council: Angeth Mayen, Ethan Buermann, and Tesfanesh Feldkamp, Jefferson High School; Aryan Patel, Delaney Gramlick, and Rubben Johnson, Lincoln High School; Colby Holtz and Sydney Anel, O'Gorman High School; Nicholas Maas, Roosevelt High School; Lavin Maddox, Sioux Falls Christian High School; and Alanna Smith and Siyanne Redda, Washington High School.

“Our inaugural Mayor’s Youth Council last year was a huge success, and I am excited to work with this next cohort of future leaders. Gaining their insights and ideas through this council is incredibly valuable in helping shape the future of our community,” said Mayor TenHaken.

The goal of the Mayor’s Youth Council is to provide youth a voice on community issues and the opportunity to learn about City government and develop leadership skills. The 2022-23 term kicked off on Saturday, Sept. 10, with team-building exercises and presentations from City leadership and will conclude with graduation in May of 2023. Meetings will be held monthly, in addition to other activities and events.

The Mayor’s Youth Council is led by a core planning team of City employees: Kim Stulken, Human Resources; Chad Quissell, Parks and Recreation Department; Dustin Hansen and Chris Myers, Public Works Department; Lt. Andrew Siebenborn, Sioux Falls Police Department; and BryAnn Becker Knecht, Mayor’s Office.

# # #

Photo of 2022-23 Mayor’s Youth Council


Share This